

5™ INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS

AORTIC SURGERY AND ANESTHESIA

"HOW TO DO IT"

SAN RAFFAELE HOSPITAL, MILANO - ITALY - DECEMBER 13™ - 15™, 2012

The "World-Class Keynote Lectures"



1: Thursday, December 13th

Frank J. Veith, MD:

"Despite the level 1 evidence, EVAR is the best treatment for AAAs in fit and unfit patients with suitable anatomy"

Professor of Surgery at New York University Medical Center and the Cleveland Clinic Former Chief of Vascular Surgery and Chairman of Surgery at Montefiore Medical Center and Albert Einstein College of Medicine

William J. Von Liebig Chair in Vascular Surgery
Past President of the Society for Vascular Surgery
Chairman of the American Board of Vascular Surgery
Founder and Chairman of the "VEITHsymposium"
The First U.S. Surgeon to Perform an Endovascular Aneurysm Repair

2: Thursday, December 13th

Ronald L. Dalman, MD: "Circulating biomarkers of aneurysms"

The Walter C. Chidester Professor of Surgery Vice-Chairman, Research and Quality, Stanford Cardiovascular Health Chief, Division of Vascular Surgery Director, Stanford Aortic Disease Treatment Center



3: Friday, December 14th

John A. Elefteriades, MD: "Genetics and genomics of aortic disease"

William W.L. Glenn Professor of Cardiothoracic Surgery and Chief of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Yale University and Yale New-Haven Hospital

Director of the Center of Thoracic Aortic Disease at Yale

Past President of the Connecticut Chapter of the American College of Cardiology and member of the national Board of Governors of the College

Past President of the International College of Angiology

Walter Bleifeld Memorial Award for Distinguished Contribution in Clinical Research in Cardiology John B. Chang Research Achievement Award

Socrates Award from the Thoracic Residents Association, Thoracic Surgery Directors' Association, and the Society of Thoracic Surgeons

4: Friday, December 14th

Joseph S. Coselli, MD: "History of aortic surgery"

Chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery and a Professor of Surgery at the Michael E. DeBakey
Department of Surgery at Baylor College of Medicine
Chief of Adult Cardiac Surgery at the Texas Heart Institute
Chief of the Adult Cardiac Surgery Section and Associate Chief of the Cardiovascular
Service at St. Luke's Episcopal Hospital
Antoine Marfan Award, by the National Marfan Foundation
Michael E. DeBakey Research in Excellence Award
Honorary President. Shandong Qianfoshan Hospital International Heart Center, Jinan, China

Honorary President. Shandong Qiantoshan Hospital International Heart Center, Jinan, China Award for Excellence in Surgery and Taking the Difficult Cases. Ehlers-Danlos National Foundation Award for Exceptional Accomplishments in the Field of Cardiovascular Disease American Heart Association





5: Friday, December 14th

Bart L. Loeys, MD, PhD: "The Loeys-Dietz Syndrome"

Professor at University of Antwerp, Belgium De Swerts Award from the Royal Academy for Medicine, Belgium Jacqueline Bernheim Prize, Belgium, Fund for Cardiac Surgery Antoine Marfan Award for dedicated commitment to improving the length and quality of life for people with Marfan syndrome and related disorders through patient care and research from the National Marfan Foundation Inbev-Baillet Latour Prize for excellence in clinical research

6: Friday, December 14th

Piero Anversa, MD: "Cardiac stem cells and myocardial repair"

Professor of Medicine, Director, Center for Regenerative Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston MA Laura ad Honorem of the University of Bologna Medical School Research Achievement Award of the American Heart Association Louis and Arthur Lucian Award

Distinguished Scientist Award of the Council on Basic Cardiovascular Sciences of the American Heart Association

Board of Scientific Counselors NIH/NIA

International Academy of Cardiovascular Sciences Medal of Merit



7: Friday, December 14th

Roland Hetzer, Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h.c.mult: "History of artificial heart and cardiac assist devices"

Deutsches Herzzentrum Berlin Director Department of Cardiac, Thoracic and Vascular Surgery Federal Cross of Merit First Class Honorary Professor of Shanghai Second Medical University

Honorary Doctorate from the University of Fujian Honorary Doctorate of the Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski University in Warsaw

Urania Medal of the City of Berlin for the academic performance of public education Honorary Doctorate from the Lomonosov Moscow State University



Timothy A. M. Chuter, MD: "History of endovascular aortic procedures"

Professor of Surgery Division of Vascular and Endovascular Surgery Director of the Endovascular Surgery Program University of California San Francisco Medal for Innovation in Vascular Surgery from the Society for Vascular Surgery



9: Saturday, December 15th

Randall B. Griepp, MD: "Insight in spinal cord ischemia"

Professor and Chairman Emeritus, The Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, New York Founder and Director of the Aortic Surgery Symposium 1988-2012 Earl Bakken Scientific Achievement Award, Society of Thoracic Surgeons Distinguished Scientist Award from the Bicuspid Aortic Foundation Past President New York Society for Thoracic Surgery Giants of Thoracic Surgery Award, New York Society for Thoracic Surgery

